Dare

It often happens that we do not dare take action because we fear failure. This legitimate fear sometimes hides another one: the fear of being ridiculed and the fear of not being up to it. But this fear is honourable.

Let me reassure you: this is something we all have in common!

Fearing ridicule

Fearing ridicule is a proof of cleverness and great sensitivity. These two qualities honour the person who has them.

But let me ask you not to fear ridicule when you act in a positive and generous manner for your own good or that of others.

When you act this way, you are never ridiculous. First of all: ridiculous in whose eyes? In such cases, you are not ridiculous in absolute terms but you often feel ridiculous in the eyes of one person or several people!

When this happens, you need to ask yourself: “I feel ridiculous but why and compared to whom?”

Personal story

This reminds me of an anecdote. One day, I met someone who kept acting and succeeding in life. This person was successful in everything he undertook: business and emotional life. He was in good health and everything he touched turned into gold!

On that day, I asked him where this inner force of his, this courage to undertake things and this stream of success were coming from.

He looked at me, smiled and said in a both firm and soft voice:

“I am successful because, when I was a child, I did not dare take action out of shyness and because I feared ridicule. One day, as I was having classes, everything fell into place.

One morning, I took my courage in my hands and I asked a question the teacher a question related to something I did not understand! My question caused about half a dozen of pupils to start laughing.

First, I felt humiliated. I blushed and I would have hidden beneath the ground if I could.

Daring to act is forging ahead in life

Then, I do not know what came over me. All of a sudden, I became full of confidence, which had never happened before, and I asked those who laughed at me whether they knew the solution to my question.

They all looked at me and said they did not know it. That is when I had a revelation: it turned out that I had felt ridiculous in the eyes of people who were not worth it! Clever people would have written the answer down and would never have made fun of me. Quite the contrary, they would have thanked me!”

So, when you fear ridicule, ask yourself: “compared to what?” This will give you the strength to undertake things and you will experience success.

Leave a Reply

